An Affair to Remember

14Apr10

Fashion Review

I always complain about Toronto being boring and not worldly enough. Yet for one night, the city stood proud presenting An Affair to Remember, a charity gala for the Sick Kids Foundation. What made it so memorable, wasn’t the cause but the “affair” with Oscar de la Renta.

Oscar de la Renta Dress Rehearsal

Over the past couple of years, I’ve been attending Toronto fashion shows every now and then, but I have never been to a more organized, simple yet elegant show. The stark snow white stage and catwalk perfectly fit into the Art Deco style of the Carlu. They allowed the clothes, itself, to be prominent and the stars of the evening. Moreover, the overall clothing theme could be described as “a Russian duchess in a Francisco Goya painting”. A part of the collection was inspired by Goya, and certain pieces where almost USSR militaristic looking with a touch of fur, which gave them a regal look.

Oscar de la Renta Dress Rehearsal

I was lucky to attend the dress rehearsal and get a tiny bit of a feeling what happens backstage. Whether or not one appreciates haute couture is irrelevant, but nobody who sees these dresses and gowns either from close-up or on the runaway, can say anything bad about them. They are absolutely stunning and mind-blowing! They scream elegance, glamour and luxury; embrace woman’s body; and make each model look like Barbie by the end of the night.

Grand Finale of Oscar de la Renta Show

It would be difficult to pin point a particular moment of yesterday and say this was my favourite bit. I loved it all!!! At the end of the night as my dear friend F.C. and I were having drinks with de la Renta team, señor Oscar de la Renta returned back to the hotel. I got introduced to the world-renowned fashion designer as “Oscar”.

Wedding Gown with Ostrich Feathers as the Piece de Resistance

My head is still spinning, and the past 24 hr seem unrealistic. I think I’m slowly getting it… My friends always say it’s only me to whom this can happen. Perhaps it is only me who can go from crashing de la Renta gala where the tickets ranged from $15, 000 per table to a couple of millions, to being on the first name basis with the designer himself – just simply “Oscar”, that’s all.

My heartfelt gratitude goes to the super friendly and super fun MAC Cosmetics staff, and the embracing, exceptional Oscar de la Renta team, whom I feel like I’ve known for years. I hope to see some of you very soon somewhere in the States. Al final, señor John Martinez, nada pueda posible sin tú. Muchas gracias por todo y espero que nos vemos pronto. 🙂

No Responses Yet to “An Affair to Remember”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

